Inside IARC- Meet LaKesha May

LaKesha joined the IARC team in 2017 and is a Program Coordinator. She loves to fish and loves the lake life. We are so excited for her and her husband Cole to welcome a baby girl next spring! LaKesha has a passion for helping build families and puts her heart into everything she does. We are lucky to have her!

Have a coworker describe you.

Program Coordinator Kayla had this to say about LaKesha:

LaKesha is easy going, caring, hilarious, and a great listener. I hope her daughter grows up to be – and look – just like her.  LaKesha is incredibly easy to get along with and she is one of the few people who can make me belly laugh. Her jokes are witty and her delivery is always on point. She’s also a wonderful listener, you will get her full attention during each and every conversation, and any advice/feedback she provides will be honest yet heartfelt. LaKesha is a wonderful program coordinator, she cares about her matches almost as much as she cares about her own family. Case in point, I acted as her ‘back up’ while she was on her honeymoon and she reminded me about 98349824 times that I could reach out for help if I needed to. Lakesha is one of my ‘favorite people’ and if you’re lucky enough to meet her I’m sure she will be one of yours as well.


What is the best part about your job or why you love working for IARC?

I love working for IARC because I love watching families grow and dreams come true. I also love working with our amazing surrogates. Their passion really drives me and fuels my passion for this career.


Share a fun fact about yourself.

One fun fact about me is I LOVE fishing is my free time. If I’m not in the office or at a family event I’m usually out on the lake catching some bass or musky. I am also a pro staffer and sponsored by a local bait and tackle company.


If you could visit anywhere in the world you’ve never been, where would you go?

I would love to travel to Israel. I have a lot of clients that live there, and it would just be so much fun to see their lifestyle. I also hear it’s so beautiful there and many things to see and experience.


Three things I would struggle to live without are

my phone, boat and my car. My phone has my whole life on it. If I schedule or plan anything that all goes onto my phone. That’s also how I stay in touch with friends and family. I would also struggle without my car. I live far from town and my work so it REALLY helps to have a car to use. I would also struggle without the boat. Yes, I can fish from the dock….but you can’t get to any “good fishing spots” without a boat.  ?


When not in the office, you can find me…

When I’m not in the office I’m up north or on a lake somewhere. My husband and I love fishing and hiking trails. We love to shed hunt (look for deer antlers in the woods) with the dogs. I also enjoy snuggly days at home watching Jeopardy on Netflix. My husband Cole and I are also expecting our first child, so we have been spending a lot of time shopping and getting things ready for her arrival in April 2020.


What did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was growing up, I really wanted to be dentist. I loved going to the dentist and having teeth cleanings done. I REALLY enjoyed brushing my teeth for fun when I was in middle/high school. When I started my college courses my focus was in Bio medical science but I ended up with a degree in communication studies and minoring in Human relations.